Musing Mondays (2)

 Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Should be Reading

This week’s musing asks…

Do you listen to audiobooks? Why, or why not?

Taylor’s Answer:
My answer to this question is a big, fat YES. I mostly listen to audiobooks when I’m driving in the car. I pretty much always have one playing. I hate to say it, but sometimes I get kind of bored listening to music. With a book, it just whisks me away to some other place and someone else’s story! I think a big part of this is that i grew up listening to Adventures in Odyssey in the car with my dad. It was like a ritual. We ALWAYS did it. So, I guess I just grew up listening to stories and getting lost in another place just by listening. They are also a way to help slowly chip away at my massive TBR pile 🙂

Taylor’s currently listening to Split by Swati Avasthi

 Rebekah here.
Ok, so I haven’t really listened to audio books before until now. I’m currently listening to Shiver on audiobook in my car…..and I really, really like it. I didn’t think I would because I love reading so much, but basically I think I’m just like Taylor on this one….it is just easy for us to get lost in a story! OK yeah, if the narrators voices are annoying it is kind of difficult…but I guess you just kind of get used to it if it is a good story to tell.
Still love reading those physical books though.

thanks for reading!

 Rebekah’s currently listening to Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
7 comments
  1. Gigi Ann said:

    I think reading in the car sounds wonderful, except I am always with the hubby and he isn't interested in listening to a book. But, I do enjoy listening to audio books some of the time in my reading corner. However, like you Rebekah, I like my physical books also.

  2. caite said:

    I am not the biggest audio fan.If I had a longer commute or traveled a lot, I might enjoy them more. But trying to use them in my everyday live, my mind tends to wander.

  3. Vicky said:

    I don't like audio books because I get distracted too easily. I always have a clear picture of what the characters may look/sound like so I don't like voices picked for me. 🙂 I'd rather have a paperback copy in my hands!Here's my MM postVicky @ Books, Biscuits & Tea

  4. I've never listened to one because the idea kind of scares me 😛 I'm just afraid it won't be nearly as good as a real book. Plus, I get really distracted and just zone out. When I do that with a book I can quickly back up and see what I missed, but I'd be so completely lost with audio! 😛

Leave a Reply

